Underage DUI – Teenage Drunk Driving
California has a “Zero Tolerance Law” policy for an underage DUI and enacted some of the toughest laws in the nation. If you are under 21 years of age you will be charged with an underage DUI in San Diego with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) as low as 0.01%. If the alcohol blood level reaches 0.05% or greater you may also be charged with both an underage DUI and a regular DUI combined. In addition, you may be subject to arrest for Driving Under the Influence.
Keep in mind that an alcohol blood level of 0.01% is easily reached.
All it takes, for example is consuming:
- One 12-ounce beer.
- One 4-ounce glass of wine.
- One 1.25-ounce of liquor.
In reality these levels of consumption frequently get you very close to the to 0.05% threshold. If convicted of an underage DUI in San Diego you will lose your license for a year or until your 18th birthday, whichever is greater. As stated before, an underage DUI is heavily penalized in San Diego.
Additionally, a judge may order the following underage DUI penalties:
- Fines that can amount to several hundred dollars.
- Confiscation of the vehicle.
- Mandatory driving safety classes.
- Mandatory alcohol and drug abuse classes.
- Proof of financial responsibility in order to have your license restored after suspension.
If you or a loved one were stopped for an underage DUI, call our San Diego underage DUI lawyer immediately at (619) 258-8888. Do not make any statements or pay bail before consulting with us. No matter the circumstances, we will mount the most effective defense for you and attempt to avoid an underage DUI conviction.
Long Term Consequences for an underage DUI charge
You can suffer long term social and career-related consequences from an underage DUI conviction in San Diego. These can be:
• Denial of employment
Job applicants must frequently disclose any information on previous convictions. Many young adults find it difficult to find employment after being convicted of a misdemeanor or felony as the case may be. If you do not declare your conviction on the applications the employer has the right to terminate employment immediately.
• Denial of college application
You will be require to list an underage DUI on your college application. If you do not list it you may be subject to immediate dismissal from the institution if it is discovered.
• Denial of chosen study path
If majoring in education or pre-law, a conviction for an underage DUI may preclude you from continuing working toward your chosen degree.
Additional information on underage drinking and underage DUI
Underage drivers who purchase, attempt to purchase, or consume an alcoholic beverage in San Diego can receive a minimum $250 fine and 24 hours or more of community service. That is in addition to your driving privileges being suspended or delayed for 1 year.
Possession or transportation of alcohol in a vehicle where the driver or passengers are under 21 year of age can lead to a fine of up to $1,000 or imprisonment for up to 6 months or both, vehicle impound, and suspended or delayed driving privileges for 1 year.
Possession of an altered, suspended, or fictitious California license or other ID card will aggravate your case and could result in a $1,000 fine or up to 6 months in county jail that will be added to any other conviction.
Finally, just possessing alcohol in public, even when you are not driving, can result in a $1,000 fine or up to 6 months in county jail or both. The catch is that it can also lead to a 1 year suspension or delay of your license. If you have any questions related to this matter, please contact our San Diego Criminal Lawyer for a free consultation.