BORDER BUST  - "Federal Jury acquits a 71-year-old client accused of being a Blind Mule" -Read More-      DUI DEFENSE     - "I got a DUI coming from a friends home (1.9 BAC). Charges reduced. SD Defenders are very nice to work with.…"      APPEALS CASE - "After a year of working with Dan, he clearly helped to reverse a lot of extra legal expense and punishment..…"       FELONY STRIKE DISMISSED     - "Dan Smith is the absolute best criminal lawyer In California…"

Hit and Run

Hit and Run (DUI and non-DUI)

All cases that are discussed on this site regarding DUI offenses are further aggravated if you fled the scene. This is known as Hit and Run and will require a vigorous defense even without a DUI.

Under California law it is not a courtesy but a mandate that you stop at the accident scene, exchange contact information with any other drivers involved, and assist anyone that was injured or killed. If you fail to meet these obligations you qualify as a Hit and Run and will considerably aggravate your case.

If you or a loved one is under investigation for a hit and run and one involving a DUI in particular, call your trusted San Diego Criminal lawyer at (619) 258-8888. If you have not been identified yet, don’t waste another minute. In either case, if you have or have not been identified yet, call us without delay.

DUI Hit and Run Charges

A hit and run accident involving drunk driving generally involves multiple offenses:

  • The accident itself.
  • The level of blood alcohol.
  • The severity of the accident.
  • Was anyone injured or killed?
  • What amount of damages were caused?
  • Was there drugs involved?
  • Where any minor present?
  • Have you been convicted of any similar offenses in the past?

Each of these circumstances carries severe penalties in and of itself. Some cases can be a simple DUI while others can be considered a misdemeanor DUI, felony DUI, or even vehicular manslaughter. But if you hit and run, the prosecutor can ask for greater penalties.

DUI Hit and Run Sentences

If no one was hurt during your hit and run accident and it was not your fourth offense in the past 10 years, then it will generally be charged as a misdemeanor.  If, however, your situation involves injury, death, or severe material damages, you will face a felony. The fact that you hit and run can add up four years in state prison and a fine of $10,000 (maximum fine). If you have any additional questions, please contact our San Diego Criminal Lawyer for a free consultation 619-258-8888.

Copyright © 2018 - San Diego Defenders - DUI and Criminal Defense Attorneys Serving San Diego, Chula Vista, and Surrounding Areas - Sitemap
FREE TELEPHONE CONSULTATION