California Petty Theft or shoplifting occurs when someone is accused of stealing property worth $950.00 or less. Petty theft is a misdemeanor and can be punishable by a maximum of three years of informal probation, up to six months in a county jail, and/or a maximum $1,000 fine. In order to be found guilty of petty theft you must be proven that:
- You committed the crime of theft; and
- The property was valued at $950 or less.
While at times it may be obvious that the items taken were worth $950 or less there are times when personal items stolen from homes, vehicles and bags do not have price tags. It must be proven that the items were worth $950 or less. If the items are determined to be worth more than $950 it will be considered a California Grand Theft which are sometimes felonies.
Petty theft can be extremely detrimental to your record as prospective employers who do background checks are hesitant to employ those who have theft crimes on their record. It is extremely important to fight these charges to protect your employment and educational prospects.
If you or a loved one have been arrested for Petty Theft or Shoplifting, please contact our office at (619)258-8888 for a free consultation with an experienced attorney.