California Grand Theft is defined under California Penal Code 487 PC as the unlawful taking of another’s property valued above $950. Grand Theft can be charged through several ways:
- Taking goods valued at more than $950.00;
- Money, labor, or personal property taken from your employer in excess of $950 in a 12 month time period;
- Theft of certain types Real estate;
- Certain types of food and agriculture valued at over $250.00;
- False Pretenses
Grand Theft is considered a “wobbler” and as such it can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the circumstances of the case and your criminal history. If you are convicted of grand theft as a misdemeanor, you face up to one year in a county jail. If you are convicted of grand theft as a felony, you face 16 months, or two or three years in California State Prison.
If you or a loved one have been arrested for Grand Theft, please contact our office at (619)258-8888 for a free consultation with an experienced attorney.